Drug PossessionHave a Former Prosecutor Fight for You
Newport News Drug Possession Lawyers
Defending Clients Charged With Drug Possession in Virginia
If you have been charged with possession, you need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Possession charges are severe, especially if you are facing a felony charge. Even a small amount of the drug can be enough to convict you of a felony if you are caught with it. If convicted, you could face thousands of dollars in fines and years in prison.
At Ehrenworth Law, PLLC, our Newport News drug possession lawyers are ready to help you fight your charges. We are prepared to use our extensive experience to help you seek the best possible outcome for your case. Our firm has helped hundreds of people who were facing charges like yours. If we can help others, we can certainly help you.
What Is Possession?
Possession occurs when you knowingly have control of an illegal drug. It does not matter if you are using the drug, selling it, or even if you will use it in the future. If the police have reason to believe you are in control of the drug, you could be charged with possession.
The severity of the charge and the penalties you face will depend on the type and amount of drug you allegedly possess. For example, a misdemeanor charge may be filed if you allegedly have had a small amount of marijuana or a Schedule V controlled substance. A felony charge may be filed if you allegedly have had a large amount of a Schedule I or II controlled substance.
What are the Penalties for Drug Possession?
The penalties for drug possession can be severe. You may be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the type and amount of the drug involved. The penalties for a misdemeanor conviction include a fine of up to $2,500 and/or up to a year in jail. A felony conviction can result in a fine of up to $10,000 and/or up to 10 years in prison. If you are convicted of possessing a Schedule I or II controlled substance, you may also be required to forfeit the drug and/or drug paraphernalia found in your possession.
The penalties for possession of marijuana are less severe than those for other drugs. A first-offense conviction for possession of marijuana is a Class 3 misdemeanor. The penalties include a fine of up to $500 and/or up to 30 days in jail. A second offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and/or up to a year in jail. A third offense is a Class 6 felony punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and/or up to 5 years in prison.
What Is the Statute of Limitations for Drug Possession in Virginia?
Under Virginia law, there is a 2-year statute of limitations for drug possession charges. Possession charges must be brought within two years of the alleged offense. However, this does not mean that you will be able to avoid a conviction for a longer period of time. If you are arrested for possession and then released without charges being filed, the statute of limitations will not begin until you are convicted.
Contact Ehrenworth Law, PLLC, today to schedule a FREE case review with our drug possession lawyer in Newport News!