DUI

Have a Former Prosecutor Fight for You

Newport News DUI Attorney

Driving Under the Influence Laws in Virginia

The official term in Virginia for a DUI is “driving while intoxicated,” or DWI. However the terms DUI and DWI are used interchangeably even within Virginia statute § 18.2-266.

You can be arrested for driving under the influence if:

  • Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measures .08 percent or above as an adult.
    • For those under 21, your BAC must not exceed .02 percent
  • You are in physical control of the vehicle while intoxicated even if you aren’t driving it (behind the wheel with the keys in the ignition)
  • You are under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs as witnessed by law enforcement (regardless of your BAC level)
  • Your blood measures .01 milligrams or above of methamphetamine
  • Your blood measures .02 milligrams or above of cocaine
  • Your blood measures .02 milligrams or above of PCP

An arrest does not automatically mean a conviction. Many defenses strategies exist for DUI charges, and an experienced defense lawyer can make a difference in whether you walk away with a mark on your permanent criminal record or not.

You may be anxious about how the charge can affect:

  • Your finances
  • Your job
  • Your driving privileges
  • Your insurance rates
  • Your criminal record

At Ehrenworth Law, PLLC you can work with a former prosecutor who has deep experience on both sides of courtroom. Let our Newport News DUI defense lawyer help you fight for your rights.


Contact our Newport News DUI attorney today at (757) 663-4477 to discuss your case. Also serving the Hampton Roads Area. 


Virginia DUI Penalties

A DUI offense is A Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to $2.5k in fines, a year in jail, &/or a year license suspension. If a minor was in the vehicle, or the driver has a BAC of over .15 the min sentence is up to 10 days in jail.

If a death/injury occurs as a result of the DUI or if the driver has previous convictions within the last 10 years the charges will most likely be considered a felony.

Second Offense: If convicted, the charge is punishable by:

  • A minimum of $500 in fines
  • Up to 1-year of jail time
  • A 3-year license suspension
  • Mandatory alcohol safety classes
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID)

Third Offense: Charged as a Class 6 felony. If convicted, the charge is punishable by:

  • A minimum of $1,000 in fines
  • Up to 5-years of jail time
  • An indefinite license suspension
  • Mandatory alcohol safety classes
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID)

Exceptional Legal Representation at Ehrenworth Law, PLLC

To increase your chances for a favorable result, you should have an attorney in your corner who is highly knowledgeable and experienced in the handling of all of the technical and scientific as well as legal aspects of a DUI. Attorney Ehrenworth has more than 24 years of experience in criminal law and understands the strategies prosecutors use in seeking a conviction, giving our firm a unique edge in building your defense.


Learn more about how our DUI Lawyer in Newport News can help. Contact us today at (757) 663-4477 to schedule your free case review.


Learn More About How We Can Help You